Giving Hungry Girl a Chance. . .

So, my 4 year old and I were watching the Cooking Channel this morning. .  one of the few mornings I insisted on watching one of “my shows”. . . when you have kids/babies, I feel like they take over everything: anything that’s on the TV is for them (Disney channel, Nick Jr. whatever), sleeping in becomes a distant memory (even on a Saturday), if you have a big spa-type bath tub, only the kids get to use it for bath time, your kitchen counter (or at least mine) is taken over by bottles and sippy cups and a bunch of plastic crap, there are toys everywhere, literally everywhere, in every room of the house. You give up on cleaning up and just find places to “store” the toys. . only to be taken out, played with and thrown around all over the floor again. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve come to terms with having a not-so-clean house and think it’s perfectly fine. 🙂 and I LOVE my kids. Life is just different and you adjust and I’m sure as they get older, more things change and you adjust/adapt more. 🙂 This is life.

Anyway, back to the Cooking Channel. .  earlier, I would never watch Hungry Girl. http://www.hungry-girl.com/. Her whole concept is cooking food lower in calories and finding alternate ways to cook food healthier (with lower calories; did I say lower in calories?). I thought her food never looked good and most of her recipes just never interested me. . .  However, I’ve been thinking about this- most Americans today struggle with their weight, and are always looking for lighter ways to cook. .  Hungry Girl has a huge following so you know she has an audience and she’s relevant. And, she cooks with simple, non-expensive ingredients because not everyone can just go pick up some prosciutto or fennel, right? I’m going to give her a 2nd chance. .  granted, come on, let’s be honest, her food is not Food & Wine worthy (I’m sorry but the food doesn’t always look appetizing) BUT, it’s low in calories (which is great) and probably tastes good.

Per my daughter’s request, today WE are going to make this dessert. Easy enough, the kids can help and totally FUN:

Bananarama Wafer Pudding

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups fat-free milk
  • 1 small (4-serving) package sugar-free fat-free instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 24 reduced-fat vanilla round wafer cookies (recommended: Reduced Fat Nilla)
  • 2 medium bananas, sliced
  • Fat-free whipped topping (thawed from frozen), optional

DIRECTIONS

Combine milk with pudding mix in a bowl. Beat with an electric mixer or a whisk for 2 minutes, or until thoroughly blended. Set aside.In a 9-inch square baking pan, arrange a layer of wafers, flat sides down, and then top with a layer of banana slices. Continue alternating layers until all of the wafers and banana slices are in the dish.

Top the dish with the pudding and let it seep down in between the wafer and banana layers. Cover and refrigerate for 2 to 3 hours. If desired, add whipped topping before serving.

PER SERVING (1/6th of recipe, about 1/2 cup): 137 calories, 1.5g fat, 299mg sodium, 29g carbs, 1g fiber, 15g sugars, 4g protein

TOTAL TIME:2 hr 45 min

Prep:15 min
Inactive Prep:2 hr 30 min
Cook:–
YIELD:6 servings
LEVEL:Easy
Recipe can be found at: http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/bananarama-wafer-pudding-recipe/index.html
Tonight, I will document this with my photos! 🙂
Leave a Reply

