Vanilla Cupcakes

I think I’ve mentioned my love for pasta in a few posts . .  well, I LOVE desserts even more! When God was giving out sweet tooths, HE gave me two!! 🙂 Now, I don’t go crazy ..  everything in moderation right? But when I’m out at a restaurant (which, after having kids, is a lot less frequently), I will always get dessert and when there’s cake at the office or cookies or whatever, I always take one to be polite 😛  Again, I don’t go crazy  . . . I just love that FIRST BITE ..  and the second. .  and the . . . 🙂

My current fave desserts are cupcakes! Cute, easy to eat (I wish I could say less calories but who are we kidding?) and now that we are still in/kinda past? the cupcake craze, they are everywhere and bakers are getting so adventurous with the ingredients, I love it! Cardamom cupcakes? And the cupcakes are so pretty! I’ve always wanted to make my own frosting and attempt to frost/decorate my own cupcakes- so here we are today!

I’m happy to say I finally purchased a stand mixer, decorating bags & tips!

Not bad for my first time, eh?

I am on a mission to experiment with different cupcake recipes and different styles/tips so my cupcake frosting and decorating can get better! Cupcake Wars here I come- HAHA! yeah right. Anyway, I’m going to PRACTICE! 🙂

Vanilla Frosting

This recipe was the Sprinkles cupcake mix (I had purchased a few) so this post will focus on the homemade vanilla frosting. . .

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter; firm but not cold
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners sugar; sifted (your hands will get a workout so after this, you can eat one of the cupcakes!)
  • 1/2 tsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the butter and salt on medium speed until light & fluffy (about 2 minutes)
  2. Reduce the speed to low, gradually add the SIFTED confectioners sugar and beat until incorporated
  3. Add the vanilla and milk and beat until smooth and creamy
  4. DO NOT OVERMIX OR THE FROSTING WILL INCORPORATE TOO MUCH AIR; it should be creamy and dense
  5. (Add additional milk, 1 tsp at a time, if frosting does not have a spreadable consistency)

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. looks good, alice! have fun with your new stand mixer and decorating bag/tips! i’m interested in trying more recipes too. last week i baked carrot cake cupcakes with lemon frosting for church, and chinese bakery style cake with whipped cream frosting – in the form of cupcakes – for nathan’s dol. i have a lot of leftover frosting so i’m thinking of baking some more very soon.

Leave a comment