Spinach Salad with Strawberries

Today was the hottest day we’ve had so far here in WA (high 80’s) since we moved back in mid-January. . .  and we have no air conditioning. As I type, we have our portable fans going. .  it’s a little warm right now, when there’s usually a nice breeze.

Anyway, I didn’t want to cook anything tonight PLUS I indulged and bought myself some Ben & Jerry’s so made this simple salad for dinner.  I jut threw together what we had at home and here are 3 ways to make your own vinaigrette dressing:

  1. Basil vinaigrette, click here for ingredients and directions
  2. Cilantro vinaigrette, click here
  3. Just a simple vinaigrette. .  I’m currently reading “Dinner, A Love Story” and LOVE it. Jenny makes a vinaigrette for a salmon salad that I used tonight and changed it up just a bit.

Spinach Salad with Strawberries

ingredients

salad:

  • fresh bagged spinach
  • cherry tomatoes
  • yellow or orange bell peppers (I would have loved to have used yellow ones for the color but didn’t have any so used orange)
  • mushrooms
  • cucumbers
  • strawberries

the dressing:

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar (I didn’t have any so used apple cider vinegar but had to splash some balsamic vinegar as well before I ate the salad)
  • 2 teaspoons mustard (I used dijon)
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • Squeeze of fresh lemon or lime
  • 1/2 cup good extra virgin olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste

directions

  1. Wash and chop all your veggies.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together all of the ingredients for the dressing. Season to taste with salt and black pepper if necessary. Pour on salad.

 

 

 

Gorgeous, fresh salad!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spinach Salad with Strawberries

  1. I never used to like salads with fruit!- but recently I started loving it! Funny how your tastes change as you get older. This looks delicious and I’m definetly going to have to try it. Ps. Your pictures are very pretty 🙂

    • I know what you mean! Now, I feel like I always have to have something sweet (fruit) and crunchy (bell peppers or cucumbers) in my salads. 🙂 Thank you so much for the lovely compliment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

