Simple Garlic Mushroom Bruschetta

I am really developing a serious love for mushrooms. I love all kinds of mushrooms but my faves have to be cremini and portobellos.  Interesting fact: The portobello is really a brown crimini mushroom in disguise. Once the little brown crimini grows up to be about 4″ – 6″ in diameter, he is deemed to be a portobello!

I’m starting to see why vegetarians can survive. Portobellos cooked the right way with the right ingredients and served the right way. .  ah, the meatiness, the texture, the taste. .  I love it!

This recipe is super quick, easy and delicious! The mushrooms with the garlic is heaven. . I can see why the original recipe just stopped there. .  but I had to add a couple more things. You must go out and buy some mushrooms and try this recipe tonight! It’s soooo good, I could have eaten 10 of these. I’m not joking at all.

Hope you enjoy!

Super Simple Garlic Mushroom Bruschetta

Adapted from Donal Skehan’s recipe. (he is so cute!)

ingredients (Serves 2)

  • 3-4 cups mushrooms, thinly sliced (I used baby portobello mushrooms. OMG. Yum.)
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil (plus more to toast the bread)
  • 2 small ciabatta loaves, sliced in half or 3 slices of your favorite bread (I used my rosemary olive oil bread)
  • A generous pinch of sea salt and ground black pepper
  • Fresh parsley 
  • Some Parmigiano-Reggiano

directions

  1. Heat a frying pan over a high heat and add a little olive oil.
  2. Add the garlic and fry for 30 seconds, then throw in the sliced mushrooms.
  3. Fry the mushrooms until they are soft (few minutes).
  4. While the mushrooms are cooking, drizzle the bread with a little extra olive oil and toast on a griddle pan, until golden; keeping flipping bread so you toast both sides.
  5. Place a generous amount of the garlic mushrooms on each toast and season with sea salt and ground black pepper. Add some fresh parsley and freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano on top and enjoy!

oh my!

Mushroom, garlic delicious-ness. To die for.

8 thoughts on “Simple Garlic Mushroom Bruschetta

  1. I recently started following Nancy at Gottagetbaked and I thought I’d stop by and say hello. Great idea to top bruschetta with mushrooms. I’ll be trying this recipe very soon. I was pondering what to do with some leftover french bread I had laying around. Now the bread will have a nice home with some mushrooms in my tummy.

    • oh good! Thank you for stopping by!! 🙂 Yes, you must try this recipe! If you like mushrooms, you will love this! As I’ve been telling everyone, I have really been enjoying mushrooms these days. . . today, I’m going to try a Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Balsamic recipe. I can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

